Tags

, , ,

Jesus challenges us

Training isn’t fun. I may look forward to it in a certain perverse way but it isn’t really fun. I endured training, in sports, because it was the only way I could play the game, which was the point of the training. I couldn’t get to the game without going through the training.

It could be cruel and what we endured is unusual. It is the training that makes us “mature players”. God’s goal for me is maturity. I need to grow up.

So it is with Jesus. I don’t get in the game unless I  go through the training that Jesus has in mind for me.

But the training pays off. That is God’s way.

I must look for the training opportunities so I can learn ways of Jesus.

At the time, discipline isn’t much fun. It always feels like it’s going against the grain. Later, of course, it pays off handsomely, for it’s the well-trained who find themselves mature in their relationship with God. (Hebrews 12:11 The Message)

 

