Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Image result for questions jesus asked

Jesus Questions

It is stunning how skillfully our Master Jesus, the Messiah, uses questions (read more here) to teach vital spiritual truths.  Jesus never asked a question because he needed to know the answer.  He used questions the way a surgeon uses a scalpel, to delicately cut into a new level of understanding.

Compiled here is a list of questions Jesus asked in the good news according to Matthew.  Though it is probably not exhaustive, it is an extensive collection of interrogations still demanding answers of us.

I find myself stunned at the power of these questions to cut into my soul.  I’d love to hear which question most jumps off the page and leaves you pondering as you read today.

44 Questions that Jesus asks in the good news

according to Matthew

 

  1. If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? (Matthew 5:46)
  2. If you greet only your brothers, what are you doing more than others? (Matthew 5:47)
  3. Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? (Matthew 6:27)
  4. Why do you worry about clothes? (Matthew 6:28)
  5. Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? (Matthew 7:3)
  6. Do people pick grapes from thornbushes, or figs from thistles? (Matthew 7:16)
  7. Why are you so afraid? (Matthew 8:26)
  8. Why do you entertain evil thoughts in your hearts? (Matthew 9:4)
  9. Which is easier: to say, ‘Your sins are forgiven,’ or to say, ‘Get up and walk’? (Matthew 9:5)
  10. How can the guests of the bridegroom mourn while he is with them? (Matthew 9:15)
  11. Do you believe that I am able to do this? (Matthew 9:28)
  12. What did you go out into the desert to see? (Matthew 11:7)
  13. To what can I compare this generation? (Matthew 11:16)
  14. If any of you has a sheep and it falls into a pit on the Sabbath, will you not take hold of it and lift it out?  (Matthew 12:11)
  15. How can anyone enter a strong man’s house and carry off his possessions unless he first ties up the strong man?  (Matthew 12:29)
  16. You brood of vipers, how can you who are evil say anything good? (Matthew 12:34)
  17. Who is my mother, and who are my brothers? (Matthew 12:48)
  18. Why did you doubt? (Matthew 14:31)
  19. Why do you break the command of God for the sake of your tradition? (Matthew 15:3)
  20. How many loaves do you have?  (Matthew 15:34)
  21. Do you still not understand? (Matthew 16:9)
  22. Who do people say the Son of Man is? (Matthew 16:13)
  23. Who do you say I am? (Matthew 16:15)
  24. What good will it be for a man if he gains the whole world, yet forfeits his soul? Or what can a man give in exchange for his soul? (Matthew 16:26)
  25. How long shall I stay with you? How long shall I put up with you? (Matthew 17:17)
  26. From whom do the kings of the earth collect duty and taxes–from their own sons or from others? (Matthew 17:25)
  27. What do you think? If a man owns a hundred sheep, and one of them wanders away, will he not leave the ninety-nine on the hills and go to look for the one that wandered off? (Matthew 18:12)
  28. Why do you ask me about what is good? (Matthew 19:17)
  29. What is it you want? (Matthew 20:21)
  30. Can you drink the cup I am going to drink? (Matthew 20:22)
  31. What do you want me to do for you? (Matthew 20:32)
  32. John’s baptism—where did it come from? Was it from heaven, or from men? (Matthew 21:25)
  33. What do you think? (Matthew 21:28)
  34. Have you never read in the Scriptures? (Matthew 21:42)
  35. Why are you trying to trap me? (Matthew 22:18)
  36. What do you think about the the Messiah? Whose son is he? (Matthew 22:42)
  37. Which is greater: the gold, or the temple that makes the gold sacred? Which is greater: the gift, or the altar that makes the gift sacred? (Matthew 23:17-19)
  38. How will you escape being condemned to hell? (Matthew 23:33)
  39. Why are you bothering this woman? (Matthew 26:10)
  40. Could you men not keep watch with me for one hour? (Matthew 26:40)
  41. Do you think I cannot call on my Father, and he will at once put at my disposal more than twelve legions of angels? (Matthew 26:53)
  42. But how then would the Scriptures be fulfilled that say it must happen in this way? (Matthew 26:54)
  43. Am I leading a rebellion, that you have come out with swords and clubs to capture me? (Matthew 26:55)
  44. My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? (Matthew 27:46)