Tags

, , , , , , ,

Master Jesus

What does this verse mean to me? It means that I should not work for the approval or praise of people, but for the glory of God. It means that I should not be lazy or careless in my tasks, but diligent and faithful. It means that I should not be motivated by fear or greed, but by love and gratitude. It means that I should not be deceived by the temporary rewards of this world but look forward to the eternal inheritance that God has prepared for me. It means that I should not be indifferent to the consequences of my actions, but aware of God’s justice and mercy.

Slaves, in all things obey those who are your masters on earth, not with external service, as those who merely please men, but with sincerity of heart, fearing the Master. Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Master rather than for men, knowing that from the Master you will receive the reward of the inheritance. It is the Master the Messiah whom you serve. For he who does wrong will receive the consequences of the wrong which he has done, and that without partiality.

Colossians 3:22–25

How can I apply this verse to my life? I can apply it to every area of my life: my family, my work, my ministry, my hobbies, my relationships, my finances, my health, etc. I can ask myself:

  • Am I doing this for God or for people?
  • Am I doing this with all my heart or with half-heartedness?
  • Am I doing this with integrity or with dishonesty?
  • Am I doing this with joy or with resentment?
  • Am I doing this with faith or with doubt?

I am challenged to meditate on this verse and let it transform my perspective and attitude. Whatever we do, do it for God and with God. He is our Master and our Savior. He is our reward and our inheritance. He is our judge and our advocate. He loves us and he deserves our best.

Slaves, be obedient to those who are your masters according to the flesh, with fear and trembling, in the sincerity of your heart, as to the Messiah; 6 not by way of eyeservice, as men-pleasers, but as slaves of the Messiah, doing the will of God from the heart. 7 With good will render service, as to the Master, and not to men, 8 knowing that whatever good thing each one does, this he will receive back from the Master, whether slave or free.

Ephesians 6:5–8