Tags

, , , , , , , ,

God gives me so much. Time, resources, relationships, and gifts to get His job done. There will be an accounting for what I do with all this. There will be a day where I must answer for what I did with his gifts.

Am I being a faithful son and getting the most out of His generosity?

His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.[1]

Matthew 25:21

This verse is part of the parable of the talents, where Jesus tells a story about three servants who were entrusted with different amounts of money by their master before he went on a journey. The first two servants invested their money and doubled it, while the third one buried his money in the ground and did nothing with it. When the master returned, he praised the first two servants and said to them: “Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.” But he rebuked the third servant and called him wicked and lazy and took away his money and gave it to the first servant.

What does this verse teach us? I think it teaches us that God expects us to use the gifts and resources He has given us for His glory and for the benefit of others. He does not care how much we have, but how faithful we are with what we have. He rewards those who are diligent and obedient and punishes those who are lazy and disobedient. He invites us to enter His joy, which is the ultimate reward for serving Him.

I find this verse very encouraging and motivating. It reminds me that God sees everything I do, and He will reward me according to my faithfulness. It also challenges me to examine myself and ask: Am I using my talents for God’s kingdom? Am I investing in eternal things or in worldly things? Am I seeking His approval or the approval of people?

I hope this verse inspires you as well. Let’s pray that God will help us to be good and faithful servants who hear His voice saying: “Well done!” when we meet Him face to face.

[1] The Holy Bible: English Standard Version (Wheaton, IL: Crossway Bibles, 2016), Mt 25:21.