Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

How easy is it to focus on what God does not do for me? Way too easy. I get distracted. The “shiny object” grabs my attention and diverts me. It happens a lot. The big thing Jesus never gives me is fear or worry. That is NEVER as in not at all. Worry is not from Jesus.

  • What Jesus does give me is power. That is POWER in a big way. Jesus has given me His Holy Spirit.
  • And Jesus gives me love. When I do not know how or even cannot find it in me, Jesus shows me the way.
  • But here is the kicker. I need self-control to get to where God wants me to be. He gives me self-control as well. And oh, how I need self-control.

How amazing is that?  VERY. God is so very good.

Power

Love.

Self-control.

For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands, for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control. [1]

2 Timothy 1:7

Good news: We have been immersed in the power of the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit enables us to love. We are gifted, by the Holy Spirit, with self-control. That deserves a big shout out.

What does this verse mean? Let us break it down into three parts.

  1. It tells us that God gave us the Holy Spirit. This means that we have an inner being that is not controlled by our physical circumstances or emotions. We have a spiritual connection with God, who is the source of our life and strength.
  2. It tells us that God gave us a spirit not of fear. This means that we do not have to be afraid of anything that happens in this world. Fear is a negative emotion that can paralyze us and prevent us from doing God’s will. Fear can also make us doubt God’s love and power. But God has not given us a spirit of fear, because He is with us and for us.
  3. It tells us that God gave us a spirit of power and love and self-control. This means that we can overcome any challenge or obstacle that we face. Power means that we have God’s authority and strength to do His work. Love means that we have God’s compassion and kindness to care for others. Self-control means that we have God’s wisdom and discipline to resist temptation and sin.

So, how can we apply this verse to our lives? Here are some practical steps:

  • Remember that God gave us the Holy Spirit. We are not alone or helpless. We have a living relationship with God, who is always with us and in us.
  • Reject any spirit of fear. We do not have to be afraid of anything or anyone. We can trust God’s promises and protection.
  • Rely on God’s spirit of power and love and self-control. We do not have to rely on our own strength or resources. We can depend on God’s grace and guidance.

I hope this verse encourages you as much as it has encouraged me. Remember, God gave us the Holy Spirit not one of fear but of power and love and self-control!

[1] The Holy Bible: English Standard Version (Wheaton, IL: Crossway Bibles, 2016), 2 Ti 1:6–7.