Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

“No one lights a lamp and then covers it with a washtub or shoves it under the bed. No, you set it up on a lamp stand so those who enter the room can see their way. We’re not keeping secrets; we’re telling them. We’re not hiding things; we’re bringing everything out into the open. So be careful that you don’t become misers of what you hear. Generosity begets generosity. Stinginess impoverishes.” | Luke 8:16-18 (The Message)

Good news alert!

Jesus doesn’t have any secrets.

God is in a good mood.

Jesus sets up a principle of the Kingdom of God. We live in a Kingdom (aka country) that has complete transparency. There is no hiding. There are no secrets. Everything is out in the open. Jesus is not on a mission to make you feel good about yourself. When I read what Jesus says I often say “Yikes”, “Uh Oh”, “Oh No”, “Really?” and a few things I can’t repeat in polite company. Jesus isn’t hiding anything. Jesus is telling the truth and He is saying it with the full authority of God. That is good news. We can count on Jesus.

What does this mean for me? My life is an open book before Jesus. There are no secrets with Him. Everything is subject to His shining light of truth. I’ve got nowhere to hide.

What is the new standard of Jesus? Jesus redefines everything in His Kingdom. It is all about the heart now. Read the Jesus Manifesto starting in Matthew 5.

  • I must confess I have committed murder because I’ve been angry with others.
  • I must confess i have committed adultery because I’ve lusted after women.
  • I must confess I have made false vows to God because I have made oaths at all.
  • I must confess I have had retribution on others because I haven’t gone the extra mile.
  • I must confess I have hated my enemies and violated the law of love.

The list goes on and on as Jesus throws my world upside down. I have missed God’s goal and it is only through His sacrifice and grace I stand before God righteously. Yes, in the world of Jesus, it all comes to light!

Κύριε Ἰησοῦ Χριστέ, Υἱέ τοῦ Θεοῦ, ἐλέησόν με τὸν ἁμαρτωλόν

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner!

Image result for light of jesus