Tags

, , ,

Image result for judge no

Should I judge others? Jesus is clear in the Jesus Manifesto (Matthew 5-7). I have plenty of my own issues. I should look in the mirror and focus on how I miss God’s goal (aka sin) and not how you don’t. And, there is plenty to focus on there on my side of the equation. The list is, in fact, quite long.

How about if I just judge you less? The issue isn’t about judging less. The issue is not assuming a role that isn’t mine belongs to me. Jesus challenges me to not judge at all if I have not first assessed my own self. I think I know a lot. I see “right and wrong”. Why not judge? I have been given some level of authority in life.

Who is the Judge? Jesus has been given the role of Judge by his Heavenly Father. I can serve other roles but Judge is not one of them. Jesus said “For the Father judges no one, but has given all judgment to the Son, that all may honor the Son, just as they honor the Father.”

God is God. God is in charge. Jesus has given me the standards of how I should live. There is plenty there to focus on starting with Judge not.

Doesn’t Jesus give us rules on how to confront believers about their sin? Yes, Jesus does say later on “If your brother sins against you, go and rebuke him in private. If he listens to you, you have won your brother.” (Matthew 18:15-17) That isn’t the point here. This is about hypocrisy. Let’s stay focused on the issue at hand.

Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment, you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.

Matthew 7:1-5 (ESV)