Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I am an extremely fortunate man. My earthly father gave me excellent advice. I don’t know if he saw that was doing that, but he was. Or he knew what he was doing. It was not haphazard. Here is a tribute I wrote about him.

  • Regardless, his wisdom serves me well.
  • When I heed it, I am successful.

Then, this is the very cool thing. I have a heavenly Father who is amazingly wise. He sent his son Jesus to show me wisdom and does so every day. My earthly father led me to my heavenly Father.

 My son, keep your father’s commandment, and forsake not your mother’s teaching. Bind them on your heart always; tie them around your neck. When you walk, they will lead you; when you lie down, they will watch over you; and when you awake, they will talk with you. For the commandment is a lamp and the teaching a light.

ESV (Wheaton, IL: Crossway Bibles, 2016), Proverbs 6:20–23.


We have good news! Want to know how to be saved? Click here or here for more.


Once again Solomon exhorted his son to heed his father’s and mother’s instructions and adhere to them inwardly and have his life graced by them.

Parental instruction supplies guidance, protection, and counsel. That teaching should be given from God’s Law, for the parents’ commands, like the Word of God, should be like a lamp and a light, giving guidance to one’s conduct. Discipline, though painful, helps keep a person on the right path, leading him in the way of life.

Bonus Content: Check out this supplemental content about “What does it mean to honor my father and mother?”. It adds context to this article. If you like it, please consider subscribing to the channel on YouTube.

Source: Sid S. Buzzell, “Proverbs,” in The Bible Knowledge Commentary: An Exposition of the Scriptures, ed. J. F. Walvoord and R. B. Zuck, vol. 1 (Wheaton, IL: Victor Books, 1985), 917.