Tags

, , , , , , ,

We live in a celebrity culture. It permeates our religious life. We flock to the mega church. We revel in the message of the celebrity Pastor. And then … what about that famous movie star, singer or athlete?

Celebrities will not save us when we need help, when we are hemmed in and surrounded by a disaster. Celebrities cannot be trusted. They don’t know us, and they don’t care.

God is my strength. Jesus cares about me. Jesus is the one who will rescue me. I will trust in Him.

Out of my distress I called on Yahweh [the Lord]; Yahweh answered me and set me free. Yahweh is on my side; I will not fear. What can man do to me? Yahweh is on my side as my helper; I shall look in triumph on those who hate me. It is better to take refuge in Yahweh than to trust in man. It is better to take refuge in Yahweh than to trust in princes [celebrities]. [1]

Source: Psalm 118:5-9

I want to share with you how Yahweh [the Lord] has been my source of strength and peace in times of trouble. I have experienced many challenges and difficulties in my life, but I have also seen how Yahweh has answered my prayers and delivered me from my enemies.

  • He has shown me that He is on my side and that He is my helper.
  • He has given me the courage to face any situation without fear, because I know that He is in control and that He will work all things for my good.

This verse reminds me that Yahweh is always listening to me and that He cares about my problems. He is not distant or indifferent, but He is near and compassionate. He is not limited or powerless, but He is mighty and sovereign. He is not unreliable or unfaithful, but He is trustworthy and loyal. He is not partial or biased, but He is just and righteous.

I have learned to call on Him in every situation, whether big or small, and to trust Him with the outcome. I have seen how He has set me free from fear, anxiety, depression, addiction, guilt, shame, anger, bitterness, unforgiveness, and many other things that were holding me back from living the abundant life that He has for me. He has also set me free from the opinions, expectations, judgments, criticisms, and pressures of people who do not know Him or love Him. He has taught me to value His approval more than the approval of man.

He has also shown me that He is on my side and that He is my helper. He has never left me nor forsaken me, but He has always been with me and for me. He has defended me from the attacks of the enemy and protected me from harm. He has supported my needs and blessed me beyond measure. He has comforted me in my sorrow and healed me from my wounds. He has guided me in His wisdom and empowered me by His Spirit. He has given me gifts and talents and opportunities to serve Him and glorify Him.

He has also enabled me to look in triumph on those who hate me. He has not allowed them to prevail over me or to destroy me. He has not let them have the final say or the last laugh. He has turned their curses into blessings and their plans into failures. He exposed their lies and revealed their motives. He has vindicated me of their accusations and restored my reputation. He has made them see His favor and grace upon my life.

He has also taught me that it is better to take refuge in Him than to trust in man. He has shown me that man is frail and weak and sinful and can disappoint me or betray me or hurt me or abandon me at any time. But Yahweh is strong and holy and loving and will never let me down or turn against me or wound me or leave me alone. He is the only one who can truly satisfy my soul and fulfill my desires and meet my expectations.

He has also taught me that it is better to take refuge in Him than to trust in celebrities. He has shown me that celebrities are vain and proud and foolish and can mislead me or deceive me or corrupt me or influence me negatively at any time. But Yahweh is humble and wise and truthful and will always lead me in the right way and teach me the right things and purify me from the wrong influences.

[1] The Holy Bible: English Standard Version (Wheaton, IL: Crossway Bibles, 2016), Ps 118:5–9.